As you probably know, Apple announced a new version of its mobile operating system back in June. The latest version, called iOS 8, has a host of new features and integrates beautifully with the soon-to-be-released desktop operating system, Yosemite. With improvements to Siri, a new health and wellness app, and enhanced notifications, you'll love the new iOS. BUT! To have a positive upgrade experience, you'll want to follow these helpful tips. Without further ado, here's an article I like to call "What I Wish Customers Had Known When I Worked In An Apple Store":

COMPATIBILITY

Just because your device (iPod Touch, iPhone, and iPad all run iOS) runs the current software does NOT mean it will run the new software. If you're on an original iPad or an iPhone 4 or older, you won't be able to upgrade. Each version of the OS is significantly more capable than the last, which means that each version is more taxing on hardware than the last. Certain features may not be available on older hardware, and older phones may run slower even if the software is supported. Here's a list of which devices will be supported for iOS 8:

www.apple.com/ios/ios8/

www.apple.com/ios/ios8/

FREE SPACE

Apple has not yet released the exact amount of space that iOS 8 will need on each device, but expect it to be between 3-5 GB. That doesn't mean the actual iOS will take up that much space, but any OS install requires a buffer. Now, what that means is that you'll need  that much space to upgrade the iOS and keep all your current stuff on there. In the even that the upgrade does not install properly, you'll need to have enough room to re-install a fresh copy of iOS, and then also restore from your back up. Many times I have seen people who installed the OS only to receive an error that they couldn't restore from their backup because they didn't have enough space. When the update is available, you can find it in Settings > General > Software Update. Here it will also tell you how much available space you'll need for the installation. To see how much free space you currently have, go to Settings > General > About  > Available.

BACKUP

Have one! Or two! Though you may not run into a situation where you need your backup after running an update, there's always the possibility and you'll want to be prepared. There are two main ways to back up your iPhone: through iTunes, and through iCloud. The benefit of iCloud is that you can restore from it anytime, anywhere (that wi-fi is available for some downloads). Additionally, iCloud backs up any time your phone is connected to power and at the lock or home screen, so you don't have to think about it. The benefit of iTunes is that it's taking up space on your hard drive, not your iCloud storage, and you can see your backups if you want to verify them. 

To back up using iCloud, go to Settings > iCloud > Storage & Backup. Here you can choose which items will be backed up. Then, press "Back Up Now". For more info on how to back up to iCloud and how to troubleshoot iCloud backup issues, check out our blog on that

To backup using iTunes, connect your iPhone via USB cable (or Wi-fi if you have that enabled). Under the "Summary" tab, select "Back up to This Computer" and click "Back Up Now". That's it!

Finally, BE PATIENT

There is always a margin for error, and when millions of people are all trying to upgrade all their devices at the same time, things can slow down or even crash. Don't panic. And for all that is holy, if you go to an Apple store, BE NICE! And expect a wait. And if you have any questions or need additional help, feel free to reach out to us. 

AUTHORS NOTE:

If you are going to be trading in your current phone for a new one, or want to sell your device, you will HAVE to be able to disable iCloud Activation Lock. Do this by logging out of Find My Phone by navigating to Settings > iCloud > Find My Phone. Then, securely erase all your information by going to Settings > General > Reset > Erase all Content and Settings. When iOS erases all content and settings, what's actually happening is that the hardware-specific encryption key is securely wiped, rendering everything on your phone an unintelligible mess, even if someone were to physically examine the memory chip with recovery software. 

Comment